Vintage Knitting and Knitwear from the 1930s

Dunnellen Finished!

Yay!  Dunnellen is finally finished.  This was my first vintage project and although it took a very lonnngggg time to complete, I am happy with the finished product.  This was done on #1 needles and each vertical stripe had to be embroidered stitch by stitch.  I think I chose one of the most time-consuming projects for my first try at vintage.  Hopefully future projects will not take as long!

I am so very grateful to my talented friend Rob who took these pics.  Capturing the colors of this sweater has for me been tricky, but Rob had no trouble at all – the mark of a true professional!  Thanks, Rob!

Here is a shot of the full sweater:

Photo by Robert Bruce

 and a close up:

Photo by Robert Bruce

I already have my next vintage project on the needles.  I am working on Tea for Two by Minerva Yarns circa 1934.

 
If you’d like to knit along, you can download the pattern here.
 
Here is a shot of that work in progress:
 
 
The yarn I am using is Wool Crepe Deluxe by Silk City Fibers and it is being worked on #2 needles.  The pattern calls for Minerva Velveen yarn which, as you can imagine, has long since been discontinued.  I’ve heard that Silk City’s Wool Crepe is a very close match and so far so good!  This pattern has been a lot of fun to work so far.  It’s just straight knitting, which is a welcome change after Dunnellen!  I imagine that by the time I’m bored with that and looking for more of a challenge then I’ll reach the lace part. 
 
I would love to hear from you  as well so don’t be shy about leaving a comment!  Until next time…
 
Sandra
11 responses

  1. The finished article is beautiful.
    You have chosen a style that really suits you – it looks just right with your hair.

    May 30, 2011 at 2:09 am

  2. Thank you so much for your lovely comment! The sweater was a lot of work, but I’m really enjoying it. 🙂

    May 30, 2011 at 9:46 am

  3. This sweater was definitively worth all the hard work. Rob’s pictures are great and you look radiant in your vintage creation. Well done!

    June 8, 2011 at 5:58 am

    • Thanks, Francoise! I hope that you enjoyed your time in Paris with your family.

      June 8, 2011 at 10:35 am

  4. Lisa

    Your sweater is absolutely beautiful, Sandra! I adore the puffed sleeves too! I cannot imagine knitting on a number 1 needle! You are so talented! I am excited to see your next project! The soft green is gorgeous!

    June 9, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    • Thanks, Lisa! I still need to post pics of those wonderful pattern books that you mailed to me. I think folks would enjoy seeing them. I just need to carve out some time to photograph them. If only there were 48 hours in the day!

      June 9, 2011 at 9:19 pm

  5. Marian Dunham

    I’ve written you on Facebook but I’m so excited that I’ve found someone who has a Velveen book. I have quite a lot of the yarn and the tag doesn’t give me any info as to what size needle, guage or yardage. Does your book say anything about that. Please answer if you can. Thanks, Marian

    September 15, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    • Wow, that’s terrific that you have the original Velveen yarn! That’s such a rare find.

      I do have a book that is devoted exclusively to Velveen. It’s the book that contains Tea for Two. From what I can tell, the gauge is 8 to 8.5 stitches per inch on #1 or #2 needles. Velveen was available in two weights. A 1 oz. ball is 155 yards. A 2 oz.. ball is 300 yards. I hope this helps! Please do stop by again and let us know what you make out of the Velveen!

      September 15, 2011 at 10:47 pm

  6. marian dunham

    got your reply just today. I hate that all this goes straight to Facebook. I think I have 13 or 14 balls of 2 oz the only troube is that mothes or something has gotten into it and I have it now tied and into balls. Most of it is okay I think I’ll make scarfs out of it. I’m not much for those looooong projects. Not that much time left. Maybe I’ll add pearls to it here and there to make it more elegant. Thanks again for the yardage. Marian

    March 4, 2012 at 6:38 pm

  7. Johanna Cladingboel

    Sandra, this will be lovely once you have finished it…I have downloaded the skirt and blouse also… It’s gorgeous! I might elongate the sleeves though as I feel the cold a lot and think this might go well on a longer sleeve with the puffy ends…You are a godsend to mention Silk City’s Wool Crepe Deluxe… As I have several Minerva Patterns I’d been buying on eBay and was totally stuck as to what present day wool to use as a conversion… Even if this wool is not available in UK…I can hopefully find it on http://www.ebay.com or elsewhere online!!! So I might get that vintage wedding dress FINALLY knitted after all… I will submit my own developments as and when I turn progessive corners…Also… It seem to take me ages to complete projects… But…Busy lives etc… Seem to get more done in the Winter evenings though… Great to read you notes and see your pics of your previous work… Very well done you!!! : ) Johanna x

    November 9, 2012 at 9:01 am

    • Thanks, Johanna!

      Sorry for my delayed reply. I have been woefully negligent of this blog and knitting in general. I am getting a new business off the ground and still working full time. Hopefully the business will be successful so that I can quit my day job and knit more!

      August 9, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Leave a Reply

