Vintage Knitting and Knitwear from the 1930s

Minerva Yarns Stitches and Styles Vol. 3

I have been knitting off and on for about 20 years. A couple of years ago I discovered the fabulous knitting patterns of the 1930s and began collecting these wonderful old pattern books. My favorites by far are the books that were put out by James Lees & Sons under the label Minerva. The styles are elegant and classic. These are garments that could be easily worn today.

My favorite book out of my collection (so far anyhow) is Stitches and Styles, Vol. 3. There are so many styles in that book that I would love to knit that I’ve decided (God willing) to undertake knitting my way through the women’s garments and to post the patterns here for all to enjoy.

I will be blogging about each garment as I go along. The patterns will be made available on separate pages dedicated to each pattern book. You can find those pages on the menu at the top of the page.

Please pull up a chair and knit along with me!

Sandra

4 responses

  1. Toni Jo

    So excited to see how this goes! You’re going to build a fantastic wardrobe doing this, too. Maybe some knit-a-longs are in order! 🙂

    April 14, 2011 at 10:20 am

  2. Knit-a-longs would be great! The more the merrier.

    April 15, 2011 at 4:14 pm

  3. I just discovered your blog and I love your sweaters! I think I might join you in knitting Tea for Two.

    June 19, 2011 at 8:33 am

    • Welcome, Andrea! I hope you do join in. This has been a fun project!

      June 19, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Leave a Reply

